East Bay Summer Outdoor Movie Round-Up

Though we rarely see short-sleeves-in-the-evening temperatures in the Bay Area, summer is the best chance we’ve got for outdoor movies that aren’t at the Concord drive-in. (Which is totally worth doing, by the way.)

If your kids can stay up past 9 pm, there are a few opportunities to set up camp and watch a show. All of these venues will be offering snacks or kids activities in advance of the movie, so feel free to show up early and play. Most of the movies will start as soon as the sun goes down, around 8:45. Bring your own chairs and blankets.

free-summer-east-bay-outdoor-movies

 

Friday, June 5 – @ Piedmont Park

Friday, June 19 – Penguins of Madagascar @ Redwood Park in Oakland

Thursday, June 25 – Maleficent @ Jack London Square

Friday, June 26 – Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day with Alameda’s Starlight Movies at the Park @ Alameda Point Multi-Purpose Field. Festivities begin at 6.30p, film at 8:15p.

Thursday, July 9 – Mrs. Doubtfire @ Jack London Square

Friday, July 17 – Back to the Future II @ Redwood Park in Oakland

Thursday, July 23 – Night at the Museum @ Jack London Square

Friday, July 24 – The Lego Movie with Alameda’s Starlight Movies at the Park @ Alameda Point Multi-Purpose Field

Friday, July 24 – The Princess Bride @ Redwood Park in Oakland

Friday, July 24 – The Box Trolls @ Hayward City Hall Plaza

Thursday, August 13 – Finding Nemo @ Jack London Square

Friday, August 28 – Epic @ Redwood Park in Oakland

Friday, September 11 – @ Piedmont Park

Friday, September 11 – Big Hero 6 with Alameda’s Starlight Movies at the Park @ Leydecker Park

Friday, September 11 – Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day @ Redwood Park in Oakland

Friday, September 25 – @ Piedmont Park

Friday, September 25 – Grease @ Redwood Park in Oakland

Related: Cheap summer movies (indoors) in Richmond, Walnut Creek, and Alameda.